1.jpg 2.jpg 3.jpg 4.jpg 5.jpg

East Otter Tail Soil and Water Conservation District

The East Otter Tail Soil and Water Conservation District is a local unit of government that is supervised by a board of five elected officials. Soil and Water Conservation Districts (SWCDs) are local units of government that help direct and manage natural resource programs. SWCDs originated out of the Dust Bowl days of the 1930's as local resources for the promotion and advancement of best management practices that protect and enhance our soil and water resources.

SWCDs are governed by a board of locally elected supervisors that develop policy, plans, and budgets for the district, empower and work with staff, and represent the district at meetings and other events. SWCD staff work primarily in a one-on-one basis with landowners, aiming to connect landowners with the technical and financial resources they need to put conservation practices on the land. Other conservation partners include local businesses, schools, cities, townships, lake associations, and state and federal agencies. Otter Tail County has two SWCDs that work jointly on many efforts, please contact your local office for assistance.

Plant Kit Pickup

Plant Kit Pickup

Plant Kit Pickup will be on Thursday, May 30 and Friday, May 31 from 10am - 1pm. Pickup will be at the East Otter Tail County Fairgrounds in Perham (see map for details).

SWCD Supervisor Districts Map

File Before June 4th to Run for SWCD Supervisor

Individuals concerned about water quality and soil erosion in East Otter Tail County should consider filing by June 4th to run for the position of Supervisor of the East Otter Tail Soil and Water Conservation District (EOT SWCD).

This year, the EOT SWCD has three Supervisor positions up for election. SWCD candidates appear on the ballot for the general election which will take place on November 5th, 2024. Candidates are elected county wide, but must reside in one of the nomination districts up for election.  These include Nominating District I, which includes Candor, Dead Lake, Dora, Edna, Hobart, and Star Lake Townships, of which Bruce Albright currently serves. Nominating District IV, which includes Compton, Deer Creek, Folden, Girard, Henning, Leaf Lake and Otter Tail Townships, of which Terry Greenwaldt currently serves.  Nominating District V, which includes Eastern, Elmo, Inman, Oak Valley, Parkers Prairie and Woodside Townships, of which Steve Inwards currently serves. 

Clean Water, Land and Legacy Amendment

Clean Water, Land and Legacy Amendment

On November 4th, 2008, Minnesota voters approved the Clean Water, Land and Legacy Amendment to the state constitution. The Amendment increases the sales and use tax rate by three-eighths of one percent, starting July 1, 2009 and continuing through 2034.

Amendment dollars are dedicated to four funds:

  • Outdoor Heritage Fund
  • Parks and Trails Fund
  • Cultural Heritage Fund
  • Clean Water Fund

Local Soil and Water Conservation District offices may apply for money from the Clean Water Fund to fund local projects. The Clean Water Fund was created to:

  • Protect, enhance, and restore lakes, rivers, streams, and groundwater
  • Protect drinking water sources

The Clean Water Funds are distributed through the Board of Soil and Water Resources (BWSR). BWSR grants provide the funding to local units of government to deliver soil and water conservation services to their communities. Grant funds support and increase local capacity to implement programs and provide cost-share to landowners who install conservation practices on the land to benefit state water and soil resource.

The Legacy Logo (above) identifies projects funded by the Clean Water, Land and Legacy Amendment.

Click here for more info

2024 Photos & Text Copyright - © East Otter Tail SWCD
3plains.com - Responsive Web Design

Back To Top